Cornwall Apprenticeship Awards 2017

The 2017 Cornwall Apprenticeship Awards will be taking place on Friday 17th November.

Now in its third year, the Cornwall Apprenticeship Awards is well established as one of the leading training awards in the South West. Hosts Truro and Penwith College are again on the hunt for both Apprentices and Employers that are demonstrating outstanding achievement and commitment to Apprenticeships. Nominations are now CLOSED.

The Gannel building at Truro College will again be transformed for the evening where Pirate FM presenters Holly Day and Neil Caddy will take centre stage as hosts.

Any learner or employer who is involved in Apprenticeship training in Cornwall is eligible to be nominated, regardless of the College or training provider that delivers their training, provided they are still training as an Apprentice, or completed their training after 1st June 2016. Forty-two nominees will be shortlisted, and a panel of judges consisting of employers across Cornwall will decide who will be the Apprentice or Employer of the Year in each of the fifteen categories. 

Thank you for all nominations - nominations are now CLOSED.

NEW for 2017 - Public vote

Members of the public have the opportunity to help determine the Achiever of the year for the first time, by voting for their winner from three shortlisted nominees on the Truro and Penwith College website. Nominees have been shortlisted and the public vote is now CLOSED, the result will be combined with the scores of three judges from Apprentice employers to determine the winner of the category.



Ellen Curnow - Lang Bennetts Chartered Accountants

James Bosley - Red Hotels Ltd

Alisha Stone - Robinson Reed Layton


Sammy Swabey – Truro and Penwith College

Diane Jones - Oltco Ltd

Alexandra Phillips - Furniture World - Oak City


Oliver Weeks - RHR Construction

Ahren Warwick - Williams and Clay

Adam Turner - Robert Banks

Customer Service

Anna Chainey-Readings - J Shoes

Rebecca-Jay Thorpe - Cornwall Council

Benjamin Hood - Cornwall Fire and Rescue Service

Digital & IT

Daniel Cannons - Tregothnan

Sami Woon - King's Business Limited

Michael Doney - Focus Technology Europe Ltd

Engineering & Manufacturing

Spencer Brewer – WES Engineering Solutions

Thomas Hicks – WES Engineering Solutions

Grant Roberts – Cornwall Farm Machinery 

Hair & Beauty

Shannon O'Regan - Marzipan Hair Salon

Emma Roberts - St.Michaels Hotel & Spa

Rhianna Wheeler - Joanne Innis

Health, Social Care and Childcare

Gemma Hughes - CORMAC Community Services

Adam Annear - Royal Cornwall Hospital Trust

Sophie Poulton - Carnon Downs Surgery


Laurissa Barriball – The Rick Stein Group

Eleanor Bolton - The Old Coastguard

Daniel Sales - The Dining Room

Motor Vehicle

Joshua Sheppard - Matt Turner Mechanical Services

Lerryn Bishop - Pryors Garage

Ashleigh Johnson - Westways Filling Station

Marketing & Management

Keira Anderson - Penwith Community Development Trust

Madeline Murphy – Tregothnan 

Niki Thomas – Truro and Penwith College

Achiever of the Year

Alisha Stone - Robinson Reed Layton

Diane Jones - Oltco Ltd

Oliver Weeks - RHR Construction

Large Employer


Eden Project

Cornwall Council 

SME Employer

The Victoria Inn

Robinson Reed Layton 


Cornwall Apprenticeship Awards 2016

Do you know Cornwall’s next Apprentice or Employer of the year? Read about our 2016 winners here.

To get a feel for the event, read about the 2016 awards here.

To keep up to date follow us on Twitter and Facebook.

If you are a business and are interested in supporting this year’s awards, please email or call 01872 242711.